Golden Leaf Awards

The Golden Leaf Awards recognize dedicated and community-minded people who have worked to exemplify excellence in inclusion, employment, advocacy, and support on behalf of citizens who have developmental disabilities.

Our Second Annual Golden Leaf Awards will take place Wednesday, October 16, 2019, from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Courtyard By Marriott in Springfield. Our guest speaker will be Chris Ulmer. Chris is the founder of the leading neurodiversity movement, SBSK (Special Books by Special Kids). Chris travels the globe meeting new friends and sharing their stories on social media. He believes when we take the time to hear someone’s story and view life from their perspective, we learn and grow as humans, making the world a better place. Together Chris and the SBSK community are promoting conversations on acceptance and inclusion around the world.

Lunch Choices:
• Pot roast served on mashed potatoes, honey glazed carrots, salad, rolls, and dessert
• Lemon pepper tilapia with lime caper sauce, wild rice, green beans, rolls, and dessert
• Broccoli alfredo with sauteed vegetables, salad, rolls, and dessert

Tickets are $25 per person, or $250 for a table of eight. Tickets can be purchased online at Ticket sales end at midnight October 13, 2019. BUY TICKETS.


The Rosemary Paxson Award: Rosemary was a pioneer in advocating for individuals with developmental disabilities in Clark County. In 1951, she worked with a group of parents to create educational services in Clark County for individuals with developmental disabilities. This was the beginning of a long and rich heritage of services here in Clark County. This award recognizes a person or organization whose effort and service goes above and beyond to make a difference in the lives of individuals.

The DSP Excellence Award: Direct Service Professional or DSP is the term used for people who are paid to provide direct services for individuals with developmental disabilities. The recipient of this award is a DSP or private provider who has positively affected an individual through his/her hard work, teaching, care, and support.

 The Donnis Bailey Self Advocacy Award: Donnis Bailey worked for Developmental Disabilities Clark County for 24 years and was a friend to, and advocate for, many people with DD. Donnis pioneered the Self-Advocacy group in Clark County. The award recognizes a person with a developmental disability whose actions or advocacy efforts have helped him/herself or others. His/her efforts have positively changed public perception about people who have a developmental disability through public awareness, volunteerism, advocating for legislative change, or leadership.

The Champion City Employer of the Year Award: October celebrates National Disability Employment Awareness Month. This award recognizes an employer in Clark County that has afforded individuals with developmental disabilities the opportunity to work, and as a result, have created an inclusive workplace.

The Dr. F.F. Mueller Visionary Award: Dr. Mueller was instrumental in creating the Town and Country Day school, pioneering organized transportation, and creating a residential center honoring his name. Dr. Mueller was a highly respected community leader in Springfield, as well as a parent of son, Dick, who had developmental disabilities. Dr. Mueller served as the Executive Director for countywide services, dating back to 1956. His vision of creating services locally for individuals continues, ensuring all Clark County citizens can be an integral part of their community. This award recognizes a person or organization that impacts the community by providing inclusive opportunities, innovative programs, volunteerism, or organizational partnerships for people with developmental disabilities. The efforts of this person or organization have helped ensure Clark County is a place where citizens of all abilities belong.