Golden Leaf Awards

The Golden Leaf Awards recognize dedicated and community-minded people who have worked to exemplify excellence in inclusion, employment, advocacy, and support on behalf of citizens in Clark County who have developmental disabilities.

Our First Annual Golden Leaf Award ceremony will take place on Wednesday, October 17, 2018, at 11:30 a.m. at the Courtyard By Marriott in Springfield. Our guest speaker will be Chris Lucas. Tickets are $25 per person, or $250 for a table of eight. BUY TICKETS HERE.


The Rosemary Paxson Award:  This award recognizes an agency or organization whose efforts and service goes above and beyond to make a difference in the lives of individuals with developmental disabilities.

The DSP Excellence Award:  This award recognizes a person who has positively affected an individual or individual’s life for the better through their work as a Direct Support Professional.

 The Donnis Bailey Self Advocacy Award:  This award recognizes an individual with a developmental disability whose actions or advocacy efforts have helped themselves or others.  Their efforts may be through public awareness, community volunteerism, advocating for legislative/policy changes, or leadership skills.  His/her advocating has helped to change community perceptions in a positive way about community members who have a developmental disability.

The Champion City Employer of the Year Award:  This award recognizes a business or organization in Clark County that has embraced a workforce where all people can be valued and appreciated.  Their efforts have afforded individuals with developmental disabilities the opportunity to work, and brought about an inclusive workplace.

The Dr. F.F. Mueller Visionary Award:  This award recognizes a person or organization that is making an impact in the community for people with developmental disabilities through inclusive opportunities, innovative programs, volunteerism, or organizational partnerships.  Their efforts have helped ensure Clark County is a place where citizens of all abilities belong.


Nominees for the Rosemary Paxson Award are:  Bonita Heeg, Springfield Rotary; Jay Crawford, Self-Reliance Inc.; Kermit Rowe, Clark County Fuller Center for Housing; Tricia Venable, Supporting Independence, LLC.; TAC – The Abilities Connection; United Senior Services; and Angela Stan, Autumn Trails Stable.

The DSP Excellence Award nominees are: Tonia Rupert, Consumer Support Services; Evelyn Mercer, Caregiver Homes; Jackie Lanum, Self-Reliance, Inc.; Melanie Whitmore, Flora’s Group Homes; Anthony Howard, Supporting Independence, LLC; and Lisa Good, TAC – The Abilities Connection.

Nominees for the Donnis Bailey Self Advocacy Award are: Ebony Whitesell, and Jennifer Lemmons.

The Champion City Employer of the Year Award nominees are: Yamada North America, and Supporting Independence, LLC.

Nominees for the Dr. F.F. Mueller Visionary Award are: Anne Route, United Rehabilitation Services; Kyle Koehler, State Representative 79th District; and Mary Brandstetter, TAC – The Abilities Connection.


NOMINATION FORM (nominations are closed for 2018)