Home / News 4 / Nominees Announced For Golden Leaf Awards

Nominees Announced For Golden Leaf Awards

Developmental Disabilities of Clark County is pleased to announce the nominees for the first annual Golden Leaf Awards. The Golden Leaf Awards recognize dedicated and community-minded people who have worked to exemplify excellence in inclusion, employment, advocacy, and support on behalf of citizens in Clark County who have developmental disabilities. Nominations from the public were accepted from May through August 15. A Golden Leaf Award will be given to a selected nominee in each of five categories. Winners will be selected by an independent committee.

Nominees for the Rosemary Paxson Award, which honors an agency or organization whose efforts and service go above and beyond to make a difference in the lives of individuals with developmental disabilities, are:  Bonita Heeg, Springfield Rotary; Jay Crawford, Self-Reliance Inc.; Kermit Rowe, Clark County Fuller Center for Housing; Tricia Venable, Supporting Independence, LLC.; TAC – The Abilities Connection; United Senior Services; and Angela Stan, Autumn Trails Stable.

The DSP Excellence Award recognizes a person who has positively affected an individual for the better through his/her work as a Direct Support Professional. Nominees for this award are: Tonia Rupert, Consumer Support Services; Evelyn Mercer, Caregiver Homes; Jackie Lanum, Self-Reliance, Inc.; Melanie Whitmore, Flora’s Group Homes; Anthony Howard, Supporting Independence, LLC; and Lisa Good, TAC – The Abilities Connection.

Nominees for the Donnis Bailey Self Advocacy Award, which commends an individual with a developmental disability whose actions or advocacy efforts have helped themselves or others, are: Ebony Whitesell, and Jennifer Lemmons.

The Champion City Employer of the Year Award honors a business or organization in Clark County that has embraced a workforce where all people can be valued and appreciated. Nominees for this award are: Yamada North America, and Supporting Independence, LLC.

Nominees for the Dr. F.F. Mueller Visionary Award, which recognizes a person or organization that is making an impact in the community for people with developmental disabilities through inclusive opportunities, innovative programs, volunteerism, or organizational partnerships, are: Anne Route, United Rehabilitation Services; Kyle Koehler, State Representative 79th District; and Mary Brandstetter, TAC – The Abilities Connection.

The awards will be presented during a luncheon on October 17, from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Courtyard by Marriott in downtown Springfield. This event will feature a plated meal, awards ceremony, and a special guest speaker. Tickets are available via the Developmental Disabilities of Clark County’s website at clarkdd.org.

Developmental Disabilities of Clark County is a publicly funded agency that empowers people throughout their lifetime to achieve their fullest potential. Developmental Disabilities of Clark County funds and supports the F.F. Mueller Residential Center, Adult Services, in-home early intervention programs for children, transportation in specialized vehicles, family supports, respite care, and vocational training.  We also offer assistance and training to other providers of developmental disabilities services, including home care agencies, businesses, and independent providers.